Internationally Certified Yoga Teacher Training School In India


Sign up for our monthly email newsletter here!

Training School For Yoga Teachers

Punyah Yoga offers Ashtanga and Hatha Yoga residential Teachers’ Training Courses (TTC) located in the valleys of the Himalayan Mountains in the district of Tapovan, Rishikesh in India.

The school follows the ancient Gurukala system, a traditional Indian practice where the teachers and students will live in the same place for the duration of the course. This way, students can closely interact with our dedicated teachers and staff that have immersed themselves in the yogic lifestyle.

The curriculum of our programme is extensive enough to cover both theory and practice. read more

Model.FieldList.Find(m => m.ModuleFieldId ==


We are open to everyone to practice at our premises on the following dates and times.

Please note that there are no classes on Saturdays, New Moon Days and Full Moon Days.

Please send us a message via WhatsApp to secure and book your space for any drop-in session. You are also welcome to drop by anytime to the shala to inquire more about our offerings as sometimes we add classes or change the schedule.

Mysore Ashtanga
: 6:30AM (Sunday to Thursday)
Led Ashtanga
: 8:15AM (Friday)
Beginner Ashtanga
: 10:00 AM (Sunday - Friday),


The word Hatha means wilful or forceful. Hatha Yoga refers to a set of physical exercises (known as Asanas or postures) and sequences designed to align your skin, muscles, and bones. The postures are designed to open the many channels of the body — especially the main channel, the spine — so that energy can flow freely.

Hatha is also translated as a combination of words “ha” meaning sun and “tha” meaning moon. This refers to the balance of masculine aspects (active, hot, sun) and feminine aspects (receptive, cool, moon) within all of us. Hatha Yoga is a path toward creating balance and uniting opposites. In our physical bodies, we try to develop a balance of strength and flexibility. In Yoga, we also learn to balance our effort and surrender in each pose.

There is a lot of confusion over the term Hatha Yoga. To put it simply, originally, Hatha is a general category that includes most Yoga styles — Vinyasa, Ashtanga, Iyengar, Sivananda, Bihar, Bikram, and more. All these fit under the umbrella term of Hatha Yoga. It is an old system that includes the practice of Asanas (Yoga postures) and Pranayama (breathing exercises) which help bring peace to the mind and body. This then prepares the body for deeper spiritual practices such as meditation. read more


Ashtanga Yoga is an ancient system of Yoga that was taught by Vamana Rishi in the Yoga Korunta. This text was imparted to Sri T. Krishnamacharya in the early 1900’s by his Guru Rama Mohan Brahmachari, and was later passed down to Pattabhi Jois during the duration of his studies with Krishnamacharya, beginning in 1927.


During an Ashtanga led class, a teacher guides you through the sequence with Sanskrit counts. Each posture is counted to 5 and 8 breaths so all the students flow through the sequence at a same time. A teacher also performs Asana, adjustments and provide verbal instructions about safety points and explanation of the Asana.


Mysore style is a self-practice class. There are no verbal instructions provided. Students self-practice a sequence according to their level of practice at the pace of their own breath. A teacher provides individual guidance and adjustment where necessary. Is it important that a student develop the habit to practice Mysore style for a long time to get a deeper understanding of the Asana.
read more

Model.FieldList.Find(m => m.ModuleFieldId ==


students testimonials